Charter / Community Plan

//Charter / Community Plan
Charter / Community Plan 2017-01-27T09:49:07+00:00

Village Charter
Charter Summary
Community Plan

The Charter outlines a Council-Manager form of government with the Council to consist of seven members elected at-large from seven districts.   Districts 1 through District 7 are roughly equal in population (Census 2010) and established to ensure that all areas of the Village are represented on the Council.

Council candidates must be a resident of the Village of Estero for a minimum of one year prior to qualifying for office.   Council members will serve a term of four years; no Council member will serve more than two consecutive terms.

The Council will elect the Mayor and Vice-Mayor from its membership. Both of them will serve in that capacity for a term of two years.  The Mayor will serve as chairperson during Council meetings, as head of the municipality for the execution of legal documents and as the ceremonial head of the Village.  The Vice-Mayor serves in the absence of the Mayor.

The salary of each Council member, except the Mayor, will be $6,000 per year.  The salary of the Mayor would be $9,000 each year.

The Council would appoint the following positions:  Village Manager, who will serve as the Chief Administrative Officer, and the Village Attorney.  The Village Manager would appoint the Village Clerk, with the consent of Council.

Should the majority of Estero residents vote in favor of incorporation in the General Election in 2014, the Lee County Commission will call for a March 3, 2015, election of the seven Village Council members.

Incorporation of Estero will not cause any changes in postal zip codes.  They are determined by the US Postal Service based upon the mail delivery capacity of each post office.