(update 6/26/2020 at 7:00 am)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. –  The State of Florida is responding to COVID-19. As of Friday, June 5 the state has moved into Phase 2 of Florida’s reopening plan. The Florida Department of Health will now issue this update once per week. However, DOH will continue to update the COVID-19 dashboard and post the state report daily.

Governor Ron DeSantis is in constant communication with Florida Division of Emergency Management Director Jared Moskowitz and State Surgeon General Dr. Scott Rivkees as the State of Florida continues to monitor and respond to the threat of COVID-19.

Recent actions the state has taken to respond to COVID-19:

This week, Governor Ron DeSantis announced that the state will begin testing long-term care facility staff every two weeks starting Friday, June 26. This testing effort will assist in preventing the further spread of COVID-19 to vulnerable populations.

Governor DeSantis announced $250 million in CARES Act funding for rental and mortgage assistance for Florida families that have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. More information is available here.

Governor DeSantis extended Executive Order 20-69, regarding local government public meetings until 12:01 a.m. on August 1, 2020. A copy of Executive Order 20-150 is available here.

Additional actions the state has taken to respond to COVID-19:

  • DBPR issued Emergency Order 2020-09, effective June 26, 2020, that suspends the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises for all vendors licensed for such sale who derive more than 50 percent of gross revenue from the sale of alcoholic beverages. Such vendors may continue to sell alcoholic beverages in sealed containers for consumption off the premises in accordance with Executive Order 20-71, Sections 1 and 2.
  • This week, the Florida Department of Health (DOH) issued a Public Health Advisory recommending the following:
    • All individuals in Florida should wear face coverings in any setting where social distancing is not possible,
    • All individuals over the age of 65 and all individuals of any age with high-risk health conditions should limit personal interactions outside of the home,
    • All individuals should refrain from participation in social or recreational gatherings of more than 50 people.
  • To date, the Florida Division of Emergency Management (FDEM) has paid out $27,990,526 in CARES Act disbursements to 11 counties. More information about CARES Act funding is available