The meeting started with a swearing-in ceremony for the three new Councilmembers: District 1, Joanne Ribble; District 2, Larry Fiesel, and District 6, Jim Ward.  They were all sworn in by the Honorable Elisabeth Adams, 20th Judicial Circuit Judge.

This was followed by the election of the Village’s new Mayor Katy Errington and Vice-Mayor Jon McLain.

J. Ribble

Former Mayor Bill Ribble held the Bible for his wife Joanne Ribble as she took the oath of office.  



Mary Fiesel held the Bible for her husband Larry Fiesel as he took the oath of office.



Carol Ward held the Bible for her husband Jim Ward as he took the oath of office.




Mayor Katy Errington presented Barry Freedman with a Proclamation for his service on the Village’s Design Review Board.

Proclamations were also presented for former Planning & Zoning Board and Design Review Board members Marcus T. “Tim” Allen, Ph.D., Bill Glass and John Yarbrough, who were unable to attend this meeting.

Resolution 2021-04

Lee County requested Council approval to vacate the public interest in a Lee County Utility Easement located east of Three Oaks Parkway and north of Corkscrew Road. This was the former site of a Lift Station for the county sewage treatment plant. The Lift Station has been relocated to the interior of the Plaza Del Sol.

The vacation of easement has been reviewed by staff for technical requirements under the Land Development Code, and Florida Statutes, and has also been reviewed by the Village attorney. The vacation of easement complies with those requirements.

Council voted to adopt this resolution.


Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization Board Volunteers

Metropolitan Planning OrganizationThe Village has advertised for two volunteers to serve on the Lee County Metropolitan Planning Board Organization’s Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinating Committee. This Committee serves in an advisory role. Their work will be periodically reported back to the Village Council by staff as part of our Bike-Ped planning efforts.

Council authorized staff to interview the 13 residents who have indicated an interest to be a Board Member and Alternate to this committee representing Estero.

Village Manager’s Report:  Steve Sarkozy suggested that a Councilmember be selected immediately to serve as liaison to the Florida League of Cities and suggested that it be Joanne Ribble.  Council agreed.

Residents may view the archived meeting by going to the Village website

The next Council meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., Wednesday, March 24, 2021, which will include a reception for the former Councilmembers.