Vice-Mayor Jon McLain (left) and Mayor Katy Errington presented the key to the city to former Councilmembers (second from left) Bill Ribble, Howard Levitan and Nick Batos

Three former Councilmembers honored on March 24, 2021

The key to the city and individual resolutions were presented to former Dist. 1 Councilmember Bill Ribble, Dist. 2 Councilmember Howard Levitan and Dist. 6 Councilmember Nick Batos at Wednesday’s meeting. All completed their terms on March 15, 2021.

Nick Batos served as Estero’s first Mayor and Howard Levitan served as Estero’s first Vice-Mayor, both from 2015 – 2017; Bill Ribble served as Estero’s Mayor from 2019-2021.

All three had been actively involved in the process that resulted in the incorporation of the Village of Estero on December 31, 2014.

Each current Councilmember, Village Attorney and Village Manager, as well as two members of the public, spoke of their high regard and appreciation of the outgoing Councilmembers.

A number of special guests attended this meeting to help honor the three original Councilmembers including: “Mr. Estero” Don Eslick, Lee County Commissioners Frank Mann and Ray Sandelli, Estero’s first Village Manager Peter Lombardi, Estero Fire Chief Scott Vanderbrook, Lee County Sheriff’s Office South District Captain Blake Lee, Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization Advisory Council Chair Don Scott, Estero Council of Community Leaders President Jim Gilmartin and Lee Health at Coconut Point Director Alex Greenwood.


Resolution 2021-05


Resolution 2021-06


Resolution 2021-07

Keys to the City

Residents may view the archived meeting by going to the Village website

The next Council meeting will be held at 9:30 a.m., Wednesday, April 7, 2021.